iCloud: A Cheater's Nightmare

Photo-stream

 

Apple released iCloud for Mac, PC and iOS5 devices this week and after only a few days, millions of users have already started using the service.  However two features of the new iCloud service could cause big problems for anyone cheating or otherwise doing things they might not ought to be doing.

Photostream:

One of the most ballyhoo'd features of iCloud is Photo Stream.  To quote Apple's website:

With iCloud, when you take a photo on one device, it automatically appears on all your other devices. No syncing. No sending. Your photos are just there. Everywhere you want them.

Every picture snapped on your iPhone or iPad are automatically streamed to every other iPhone, iPad, PC or Mac configured with the same iCloud account.  A photo taken on your iPhone at the bar at 2am will near-instantly appear on your computer at home or on the iPhone of your spouse trying to text-message you asking what you're doing.  And the best part?  You cannot delete individual photos from your iCloud Photo Stream.  

You read that right: Once you take a picture, it will automatically be added into your Photo Stream and once that happens you cannot delete it.  Every pictures is stored on the Photo Stream for 30 days, or until you take over 1000 pictures, whichever comes first.

**Update for iOS 6: You can now delete pictures from your photostream, but only on the device you are deleting it from (it stays on the other device's Photostream)

Update 2013 - iOS 7 - Now when you delete a picture from Photostream, it is deleted from all devices.  If you use iPhoto had configure it to download your images, the downloaded images will not be deleted.

The Find Friends App:

Another new feature of iOS5 is a free app called "Find Friends".  Similar to the Find My iPhone service of iCloud, Find Friends allows you to invite people to follow you wherever you go.  Once you give authorization to allow someone to follow you, they will know where you are 24/7, without any notice.   Scorned lovers across the globe may already be secretly inviting and authorizing themselves (without the knowledge of the phone-owner, if they have access to the phone) to track their cheating husband or wife and every step they take.

 

Smart divorce lawyers out there may already be instructing husbands and wives how to use these great new services.

Comments

It's not a good idea to give your icloud (or any) password to anybody and even a worse idea to share your icloud account with anyone!

if you think someone has access to your icloud account change your password ASAP! Then, enable 2-factor authentication and then nobody can use the account without out a second method of validation (ie your phone) even if they have your password.
You can do both at Apple's account system at https://appleid.apple.com

i think someone is using my icloud what do i do

Ok well i kinda tested it out i accessed my icloud account via the web and was sent an email not a popup however i am using version 5.1.1 on my phone and my ipad may not have been connected to icloud so its pure speculation at this point for me.

If you configure a device to use an iCloud account all other devices using that account will get pop-up notices - not emails. Although sometimes an email is sent (sometimes not), popup messages are sent directly to the devices.

Pages

Add new comment