iCloud: A Cheater's Nightmare

Photo-stream

 

Apple released iCloud for Mac, PC and iOS5 devices this week and after only a few days, millions of users have already started using the service.  However two features of the new iCloud service could cause big problems for anyone cheating or otherwise doing things they might not ought to be doing.

Photostream:

One of the most ballyhoo'd features of iCloud is Photo Stream.  To quote Apple's website:

With iCloud, when you take a photo on one device, it automatically appears on all your other devices. No syncing. No sending. Your photos are just there. Everywhere you want them.

Every picture snapped on your iPhone or iPad are automatically streamed to every other iPhone, iPad, PC or Mac configured with the same iCloud account.  A photo taken on your iPhone at the bar at 2am will near-instantly appear on your computer at home or on the iPhone of your spouse trying to text-message you asking what you're doing.  And the best part?  You cannot delete individual photos from your iCloud Photo Stream.  

You read that right: Once you take a picture, it will automatically be added into your Photo Stream and once that happens you cannot delete it.  Every pictures is stored on the Photo Stream for 30 days, or until you take over 1000 pictures, whichever comes first.

**Update for iOS 6: You can now delete pictures from your photostream, but only on the device you are deleting it from (it stays on the other device's Photostream)

Update 2013 - iOS 7 - Now when you delete a picture from Photostream, it is deleted from all devices.  If you use iPhoto had configure it to download your images, the downloaded images will not be deleted.

The Find Friends App:

Another new feature of iOS5 is a free app called "Find Friends".  Similar to the Find My iPhone service of iCloud, Find Friends allows you to invite people to follow you wherever you go.  Once you give authorization to allow someone to follow you, they will know where you are 24/7, without any notice.   Scorned lovers across the globe may already be secretly inviting and authorizing themselves (without the knowledge of the phone-owner, if they have access to the phone) to track their cheating husband or wife and every step they take.

 

Smart divorce lawyers out there may already be instructing husbands and wives how to use these great new services.

Comments

using an iPad how to I get the Facetime call history of an iPhone linked with the same apple account?

configure FaceTime on the iPad with that iCloud account. This would make all new incoming FaceTime calls ring in on the iPad and keep the history of incoming FaceTime calls. You would not be able to get the prior history.
Note that as of iOS6, each time you add a new device to an iCloud account or log in to iCloud from a new device notifications are sent to all other devices associated with that iCloud account

also how would that work if you lost your iphone and tried to locate it and the "thief" would not accept the request

If you lose your iphone, you use Find My iPhone to locate it. There is no request to not accept..
You do not need to wait for your iPhone to become stolen to try it out and understand how Find my iPhone works - try it now!

iMessages and FaceTime are available on Mac, iPod Touch, iPad, and iPhones

If my mom and i shared the same iCloud account, then I made a new one and signed in to my own account on my phone, will she still get my messages or will she not because we do not have the same account anymore? PLEASE HELP THIS IS URGENT ):

As long as you have fully removed the other iCLoud account from the phone and properly reconfigured iMessage in Settings|Messages, she will not see the other icloud iMessages.

is it possible to have someone elses number on your phone without actually having there phone and only there iCloud ?

if i have someone else's iCloud info logged in on my phone i get their actual iMessages? or do they have to be sent to the email associated with the icloud account for me to see them? im not sure how i receive their messages when i have a different phone number.

If your device is logged into iCloud with a particular iCloud account, and if iMessages is enabled, you will receive iMessages sent to that person - iCloud/iMessages does not really care about phone numbers or email address. If person X is in my Contacts list, and person X's email is registered with iCloud OR their phone is an iPhone, they will get the iMessage I send them. If your iPhone/iPod/iPad/Mac is logged into iCloud with Person X's iCloud account, you will see that message in the Messages App. If Person X replies to me from another iDevice, you will also see that reply.

Note that iCloud/iMessage only sends iMessages (messages sent to/from other iDevices or Macs).. NOT SMS/Txt messages sent from non iPhones

If I turn off all my iCloud sharing on my iPhone and then add a different iCloud account on my iPhone will that other person see any of my stuff that could "merge" onto their iPhone? Will they know if I put their iCloud account onto my iPhone?

If you dont carefully read and understand the 1 or 2 messages that appear, you could potentially merge all of the contacts in your phone into the iCLoud account. This could tip-off the owner of the iCloud account you are using without authorization. They would also see any imessages or emails that you send/recieve under that iCloud account.

And, the biggie, as of iOS6, any time you add or sign in to icloud with a new device, all other devices using that iCloud account get a pop up banner message and/or email that a new device is now using the iCloud account. This message includes the name of the device.

Pages

Add new comment