iCloud: A Cheater's Nightmare

Photo-stream

 

Apple released iCloud for Mac, PC and iOS5 devices this week and after only a few days, millions of users have already started using the service.  However two features of the new iCloud service could cause big problems for anyone cheating or otherwise doing things they might not ought to be doing.

Photostream:

One of the most ballyhoo'd features of iCloud is Photo Stream.  To quote Apple's website:

With iCloud, when you take a photo on one device, it automatically appears on all your other devices. No syncing. No sending. Your photos are just there. Everywhere you want them.

Every picture snapped on your iPhone or iPad are automatically streamed to every other iPhone, iPad, PC or Mac configured with the same iCloud account.  A photo taken on your iPhone at the bar at 2am will near-instantly appear on your computer at home or on the iPhone of your spouse trying to text-message you asking what you're doing.  And the best part?  You cannot delete individual photos from your iCloud Photo Stream.  

You read that right: Once you take a picture, it will automatically be added into your Photo Stream and once that happens you cannot delete it.  Every pictures is stored on the Photo Stream for 30 days, or until you take over 1000 pictures, whichever comes first.

**Update for iOS 6: You can now delete pictures from your photostream, but only on the device you are deleting it from (it stays on the other device's Photostream)

Update 2013 - iOS 7 - Now when you delete a picture from Photostream, it is deleted from all devices.  If you use iPhoto had configure it to download your images, the downloaded images will not be deleted.

The Find Friends App:

Another new feature of iOS5 is a free app called "Find Friends".  Similar to the Find My iPhone service of iCloud, Find Friends allows you to invite people to follow you wherever you go.  Once you give authorization to allow someone to follow you, they will know where you are 24/7, without any notice.   Scorned lovers across the globe may already be secretly inviting and authorizing themselves (without the knowledge of the phone-owner, if they have access to the phone) to track their cheating husband or wife and every step they take.

 

Smart divorce lawyers out there may already be instructing husbands and wives how to use these great new services.

Comments

The iMessages will show in the Apple Messages app.

how can i see if someone is tracking me through "find my iphone?" she has my itunes account and password (it's ok), but how do i know if she's actually tracking me? sometimes i get the little triangle and sometimes i don't

I'm going crazy trying to figure out what exactly icloud does with the imessages once it stores them. Are they accessible anywhere? I want to be able to print the messages.

iCloud stores iMessages in "the cloud". The messages are accessible on any iDevice or Mac configured to use the same iCloud account. I don't think three is a print function but you can easily do a "screen grab" and then print that.

My boyfriend recently set up icloud on my phone which I am clueless about. He bought me an ipad which he set up with my tunes/icloud as well. I have not recieved this "gift" yet and feel he's doing this to check out my imessages being sent. Is this possible? How do messages transfer and if so is there a way to stop that from happening?

iCloud allows you to get email, iMessages, share contacts, etc on mulitple devices sharing the same iCloud account.. So once you get this 'gift', just carefully look at/read thru all the account settings (tap settings, then tap accounts) to see who's account is there.
If you only see your iCloud account (as it should be) and you are concerned he is reading your messages or tracking your location, just change your iCloud password (do this at the icloud website, then type in the new password in your ipad and iPhone). then, DON'T give him your new password.

You should not be 'clueless' about your device - if you can read, you can see everything that your iphone is doing/setup for in 5 minutes or less.

Question: I recently deleted all the photos in my photo stream and then my phone was stolen. So on my icloud there are no apps for photo stream or camera roll. Did I lose them? Will they be on my replacement iphone somehow? it was an iphone 4s.

Photostream automatically saves and makes your photos available on all your devices for 30? days. This is usually long enough for you to plug in or wireless sync your iPhone with your computer to make your permanant copies from your camera roll to your HD (PC) or in your iPhoto (Mac).
if you deleted items from your photosteam before you made another copy of them (HD or iPhoto), and you no longer have access to the camera roll (ie; your phone gets stolen), then those photos are gone.

Why would you have deleted them from your photostream? it's there for just such an emergency!

I do not know! i'm an idiot..i thought it was taking up space because i kept getting emails saying my icloud is full. and when I synced my phone before my trip...i didn't sync my photos because there were so many. lesson learned! thanks :)

I dont think the photostream goes against your storage limit :-\

is there a way with the i cloud to make it so that when you recive a text it is not visible until you open it... the text itself..

i'm not really sure what you mean.. but.. you can turn off all notifications for text messages so that you only see it when you go into your Messages app.

Pages

Add new comment